Established April 1860
Charles Ogburn first arrived from North Carolina in 1849. On June 2, 1852, after returning to North Carolina, he again left for California with his brother, John Ogburn, and John’s friend, Isaac Shouse. They are the first known permanent settlers in this area. When Harriet Ball, young wife of W.W. Ball of the Ball Mill on Mill Creek, died on April 30, 1860, the family was in need of a place to lay her to rest. It was then the Ogburn family donated this land for a cemetery, and Harriet became the first known burial here.
John Ogburn married Emma Jones on November 10, 1856 and in 1859 they had a daughter and named her Harriet. Harriet Ogburn, growing up so near the cemetery, was always interested in it and had almost every grave memorized, even those without markers. So many years later, now known as Harriet Grout after marrying John Grout, she became instrumental in helping prepare the first map of the cemetery graves.
About 50 years after the first known burial, land was added, and a committee was formed by Alexander Thatcher, Minnie E. Aldridge, Jefferson D. Ogburn, Morgan Albery, Arthur McMurray, and Jefferson D. Aldridge, to care for the cemetery. Land was also added in the early 1900s, again in 1963, and again in 1993, to create the cemetery border as it is today.
Dedicated September 19, 2020
Lassen-Loomis Chapter 1914 of the Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus, in cooperation with Ogburn-Inwood Cemetery, Inc. NGH #19.
Wanted: People with a lively curiosity & an interest in local history. No experience necessary. Training provided. Call Beverly 1-530-474-5110